sendmail relaying nightmare!

While I’m hot on the topic – I’ve just spent a whole afternoon/evening trying to figure out why my sendmail installation keeps on becoming an open-relay every time i configure my desired domains! – which I have now figured out!

While listing my desired domains in the access file, or in the relay-domains file, it seemed to turn my sendmail host into an open-relay.

It turns out that access and relay-domains supports relay for all valid hosts and sub-domains within the DNS domains permitted for relay, hence all hosts with a valid DNS A record within the defined domains becomes a valid source of mail! As my testing point had a valid DNS record within the permitted domain (and I did check to see whether it was an open-relay), the host allowed relay based on membership to the permitted domains.
This effectively made my sendmail box an open-relay to all internal hosts with a DNS name.

This was fixed with a FEATURE:-

FEATURE(`relay_hosts_only')dnl

This sanitised my security from internal abuse! and made my access file work as intended, supporting explicitly listed hosts and domains only.

 

Update: I later realised that the domain names I was configuring also had ‘A’ records in DNS for the top-level domain. As these hosts were not valid mail sources for this relay, I had to explicitly configure a REJECT action within the access file for all of the IPs named in an ‘A’ record lookups on the given domain names within the access or relay-hosts file in order to deny an implicit behavior which is the consequence of permitting a given domain.

 

So….some things to remember for Sendmail:-

 

Any domain listed in the access file or relay-domains file will allow ‘open’ relay for all hosts :-

 

1) Within the visible DNS structure beneath the defined domain (unless you use “FEATURE(`relay_hosts_only’)dnl”)

2) Defined as an ‘A’ Record for the given domain name as returned by DNS.
Does your Sendmail MTA relay to the hosts you intend?

 

One thought on “sendmail relaying nightmare!

  1. Excellent post.. thanks for your help.. Very useful
    Been using sendmail for quiet some time.. verified by my web page. Just experienced your nightmare.. guess it happened by shoutcast exposure to my site. Your explanations solved my problem..

Leave a Reply

