AV Comparatives

Today, let me introduce you to AV Comparatives, a trusty AV testing lab which will open your eyes to how good your anti-virus is. I have used these guys for many years to consider my options on AV.

Disclaimer: Don’t be fooled by the sell of McAfee and Symantec – they are *NOT* the best AV products by a country mile.

The reports from AV Comparatives shows the difference between “out-of-the-box” and “configured-for-security” effectiveness. This provides an interesting and sometimes scary revelation.

Please pay special attention to the historical reviews for proactive tests. The teams that score best consistently on this test do better overall because if they are on-top for 0day threats then the historical virus detection is, as they say, “history”. You can see developer drain happen when a product slips from it’s ranking where a developer leaves or the company generally lags.

For Windows, I normally use Avira Free with secure-start and detection of all categories including jokes and games. Just taking another look, I guess I might reconsider…..maybe Avast?

I’d like to try QiHoo but I can’t read Chinese and I’m not sure i trust a ‘free’ product which is difficult to find on Google and intended for a single-country only market (you can’t even find it easily on Baidu!). Chinese users – please leave comment on this point and let me know what your experience with QiHoo AV is like!

Meanwhile, I’m on Linux, so ClamAV will do for now.

Leave a Reply

